MTD for ITSA in action — watch our webinar with Accountants Therapy. Watch now →

How do I invite new users to Briefcase?

If you have an Admin or User role within Briefcase, you can invite people to join your organisation's account. There are two types of invitees: team members (Admin or User roles) and clients (Client role).

Getting to Organisation Settings

  1. Click the cog icon in the top-right corner next to your practice name to go to Settings.

  2. Select the Organisation tab. You'll see the Team section with a list of all connected users, their roles, permissions, and access levels.

  3. Use the Your Team and Your Clients sub-tabs to switch between viewing team members and clients.

Inviting Team Members

  1. Click Invite team member.

  2. On the Person step, choose Team member, then select Continue.

  3. Choose the client accounts they should be able to access. You can skip this step if they do not need access yet. Organisation admins automatically receive access to all current and future accounts.

  4. Choose the access they need, then review the individual permissions.

  5. Review the invitation and either send it by email or create a link to share yourself.

The Person step of the Invite someone window, with Client user and Team member choicesThe Person step of the Invite someone window, with Client user and Team member choices

Inviting Clients

  1. Open Your Clients and click Invite client.

  2. On the Person step, choose Client user, then select Continue.

  3. Select at least one client account for them to access.

  4. Choose the access they need, then review the individual permissions.

  5. Review the invitation and either send it by email or create a link to share yourself.

The Review step of the Invite someone window, showing the person, client account, access and delivery choicesThe Review step of the Invite someone window, showing the person, client account, access and delivery choices

Managing Pending Invites

Pending invites appear above active users in Your Team or Your Clients. Organisation admins can:

  • Select Permissions to change what the person will be able to do.

  • Select Clients to change which client accounts they will be able to access.

  • Revoke the invitation if it is no longer needed.

Invite links are valid for 2 weeks. After that, you'll need to generate a new invite. Expired invites are shown with an "Expired" badge.

Only Admins can invite other Admins.